Derby Leaders
77th Derby (2022)
Bluefish - Boat Jason Broadley
18.88 lbs.
Bluefish - Shore Peter M. Hess
17.16 lbs.
Bonito - Boat Peter D. Crabtree
10.86 lbs.
Bonito - Shore Mark J. Campos
8.36 lbs.
Albacore - Boat Mark Leonard
16.52 lbs.
Albacore - Shore Matthew D. Strem
13.28 lbs.
Total Weigh-ins
Species 10/7 Count
Albacore 4 339
   Boat 0 162
   Shore 4 177
Bluefish 9 779
   Boat 5 402
   Shore 4 377
Bonito 3 187
   Boat 0 88
   Shore 3 99
Island of Martha's Vineyard

2022 77th Derby Dates:
Sun September 11 - Sat October 15

Come to the Vineyard and Fish The Derby! For almost 8 decades, "The Derby" has been a time to renew friendships, share a hot cup of coffee and create memories that fuel the winters exaggerated fish tales. It is a time for all to refocus on the natural beauty of this Island sanctuary. So come and join us, to experience great fishing, rich history, meeting new friends, and generous sponsor-donated prizes - all in support our scholarship program! Remember: Registration is open throughout the Derby.

Daily Weigh-In Hours, Dock St. Edgartown: Mornings: 8:00 - 10:00 AM. Evenings (New): 7:00 - 9:00 PM


Latest Derby News:                                            

Posted October 6, 2022: Derby Online Auction Live!

Please take a minute to check out our Derby online fundraiser auction, loaded with donated items! Most items can be shipped and all proceeds benefit our charitable efforts. 

Posted October 4, 2022: Sad News

With much sadness the Derby Committee notes the sudden passing of long time Derby shore angler Jim Wareing. Fishing the Derby with close friends and new acquaintances alike was one of Jim’s singular passions. The mayor fished hard from the time he arrived on island up to the awards ceremony. He was often joined by his daughter Leah, with whom he shared his Derby joy. He won many dailies, weeklies, and other fishing awards over the years, but the award which best describes Jim was the 2015 MV Surfcasters Sportsmanship Award. Always positive, always helpful with less experienced anglers, sometimes a prankster, and always a pleasure to talk to on the beach - he will be missed by the Derby family.

Posted October 3, 2022: Bass In The Grass!

The bass are back! For a 5th year in a row, the Edgartown Board of Trade, in partnership with local island businesses and artists, have put on this fall fundraiser for the Derby Scholarship Fund. We can not thank everyone enough who have participated, created, and worked so hard on this art initiative to help support the derby’s cause. Be sure to check out the online auction at The entire exhibit is displayed at The Carnegie Heritage Center, 58 N. Water St, Edgartown.

Posted September 18, 2022: Thank you, Ed.

Today is Kids Day, a special event for many families. It was a day that Ed Jerome looked forward to each year. Ed passed away 4 years ago, on September 18. Today we think of him, and celebrate Kids Day as an appropriate way to remember and honor him. Ed spent his career in education working on behalf of children, and he loved introducing kids to fishing and the Derby. We miss Ed, but are comforted by his enduring legacy, as well as the signs of his influence all around us, especially during the Derby, and particularly on Kids Day. Thank you, Ed.  -John Custer, Derby President

Posted September 12, 2022: Catch & Release Awards

Want to "Free The Fighter" and still be recognized for your catch? Our Catch & Release special award form/option allows this. Simply click here to read the rules and enter your catch information. C&R standings are updated/posted weekly.

Want to weigh-in your fish and try for the big board? Be sure to check standings before your head out and carry a scale and tape. Check "fish to beat" division standings here. Remember, there are no daily prizes for albies, so your fish should be in contention for an overall or weekly prize.

Posted September 2, 2022: In-Person Registration Open!

In-person 2022 Derby registration is OPEN at Island tackle Shops. Please pre-register and pay here first, to speed the process.

Posted August 16, 2022: 77th Derby Updates/Resources

Posted August 16, 2022: Record 2022 Scholarship Awards

In 2022, the Derby handed out $80,000 in scholarships to deserving island students. Please take a look at our 2022 recipients!